Mr. Dayes anyone?

The running back took a hand-off up the middle and powered thru the Blue Darter defense for the score.

With roughly seven minutes to play in the third quarter, the score was 39-35, Apopka still holding on. 

Let's move now to the fourth quarter where the real drama lives!

After Apopka went up 46-35 after another Chandler Cox run, Cypress Bay would add to scores to take the lead 50-46.

One touchdown came in the variety of a wonderful twenty-two yard touchdown pass from Jaranta Lewis to Alex Montgomery. Montgomery caught not one, not two, but three downs in this state championship game tonight.

Apopka facing a deficit for the first time in the game, had only five minutes to determine if they'd be immortalized as state champions forever, or the runners-up and have to try again next year.

After a well put together drive down the field, the Blue Darters were within Lightning territory with two minutes to play. 

With 1:29 left in the game, the touchdown that will live in Apopka history forever was scored when Chandler Cox stumbled and grumbled his way thru Cypress Bay defenders for a two yard touchdown.

Apopka would now take the lead very late in the fourth quarter 53-50.

Cypress Bay on the its last possession had the chances to try and win or tie the game, but those chances were put out quickly when Lightning QB Jaranta Lewis had his pass intercepted in Apopka territory by Rakeem Smith. 

And that was all she wrote in this one.

Apopka wins the game 53-50 and are state champions. 

All that mattered once the final whistle blew and rightfully so was that the Blue Darters, for one year will be considered the best high school football team in Florida's top division of football, class 8A.

Congratulations to Apopka to all of the teams who represented their high schools in all of these finals this week and last.