NEW YORK -- Seven players were elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday.

Linebacker Derrick Brooks, offensive tackle Walter Jones, wide receiver Andre Reed, defensive end Michael Strahan and defensive back Aeneas Williams and senior candidates Ray Guy, a longtime punter for the Raiders, and defensive end Claude Humphrey will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in Canton in August.

Four first-time-eligible nominees -- wide receiver Marvin Harrison, Brooks, Jones and coach Tony Dungy -- led the group of 15 modern-era finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2014.

They were joined by nine of last year's finalists: wide receivers Tim Brown and Reed, running back Jerome Bettis, linebacker/defensive end Kevin Greene, defensive end/linebacker Charles Haley, guard Will Shields, Strahan, Williams and team owner Eddie DeBartolo Jr.

The other two finalists are free safety John Lynch and kicker Morten Andersen.

Selectors met at the Sheraton New York to narrow the field of finalists to five and received the required 80 percent support from the 46 selectors.

A capsule look at the seven inductees:

Derrick Brooks

Position: Linebacker

Years/Teams: 1995-2008 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

College: Florida State

Drafted: 1st round (28th player overall) of 1995 draft by Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Seasons: 14

Games: 224

All-Pro: 6

Pro Bowls: 11

Career Stats: Recorded 25 interceptions returned for 530 yards, six touchdowns. Also amassed 13.5 sacks and one fumble recovery for touchdown.

Notable: Brooks, a member of the NFL's All-Decade Team of the 2000s, was named the NFL's Defensive Player of the Year in 2002.

Walter Jones

Position: Tackle

Years/Teams: 1997-2008 Seattle Seahawks

College: Holmes Community College (Mississippi), Florida State

Drafted: 1st round (6th overall) of 1997 draft by Seattle Seahawks

Seasons: 12

Games: 180