Gary Siplin, David Simmons members of gun law task force

Gov. Scott's task force to analyze 'Stand Your Ground' law in Trayvon Martin's death

(Seminole County Sheriff's Office/Courtesy GlobalGrind.com)

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Gov. Rick Scott, along with Lt. Gov. Jennifer Carroll, announced the members of the Task Force on Citizen Safety and Protection on Thursday at a news conference, which include two local state senators.

The task force was formed after the death of Trayvon Martin. The task force will study Florida's "Stand Your Ground" law, which allows people to use deadly force anywhere they feel a reasonable threat of death or serious injury, Scott has said.

It is unknown how the law may ultimately factor into the defense case of  Zimmerman, who fatally shot Martin on February 26. The 28-year-old has told authorities the killing was in self-defense.

"We are a nation of laws, and I am committed to letting our legal system work to ensure the people of in our state are safe and protected," Scott said in a release. "I have the utmost confidence that Lt. Governor Carroll and Reverend Holmes are the best people to lead the review of Florida's citizen safety laws."

The first task force meeting is tentatively set for May 1 at the Tallahassee at the Florida Department of Transportation headquarters.

Members of the task force include:

  •  Sheriff Larry Ashley, of Shalimar, Okaloosa County Sheriff's Office.
  • State Representative Dennis Baxley, of Ocala, Florida House of Representatives, District 24.
  • Former Florida Supreme Court Justice Kenneth B. Bell, of Pensacola, shareholder with Clark Partington Hart Larry Bond and Stackhouse.
  • State Representative Jason Brodeur, of Sanford, Florida House of Representatives, District 33.
  • Derek E. Bruce, of Orlando, attorney with Edge Public Affairs.
  • Joseph A. Caimano Jr., of Tampa, criminal defense attorney with Caimano Law Group.
  • Edna Canino, of Miami, president of the Florida Embassy of League of United Latin American Citizens, Council 7220.
  • Gretchen Lorenzo, of Fort Myers, neighborhood watch coordinator for the Fort Myers Police Department.
  • Judge Krista Marx, of West Palm Beach, Fifteenth Judicial Circuit of Florida.
  • Maria Newman, of Melbourne, neighborhood watch volunteer with the City of Melbourne.
  • Katherine Fernandez Rundle, of Miami, state attorney for the Eleventh Judicial Circuit.
  • Stacy A. Scott, of Gainesville, assistant public defender with the Eighth Judicial Circuit.
  • Mark Seiden, of Miami, self-employed attorney.
  • State Senator David Simmons, of Altamonte Springs, Florida Senate, District 22.
  • State Senator Gary Siplin, of Orlando, Florida Senate, District 19.