TALLHASSEE, Fla. - Two new Florida laws aimed at protecting children have gone into effect.
Legislation stemming from a sexual abuse cover-up at Penn State University and the death of 2-year-old Caylee Anthony in Orlando are among about 30 new Florida statutes effective Monday.
Public or private colleges and universities could be fined up to $1 million for knowingly failing to report child abuse under a wide-ranging child protection law.
It requires any individual suspecting a child has been abused to report it to the Florida Abuse Hotline -- 1-800-962-2873 -- or 911 if there's an immediate danger.
Another new law will increase the maximum penalty for knowingly making a false statement to police about a missing child, such as Caylee, from a year in jail to five years in prison.
Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.