George Zimmerman juror profiles

Juror 1 (B29)

Woman, minority (African American or Hispanic), late 30s, married, eight children, nursing assistant

Biographical info:  

Moved to Seminole County from Chicago four months ago.  She said she doesn't pay much attention to news because she likes reality TV shows, such as "Real Housewives."  She also added that she's a Facebook fanatic.  She works the third shift at a nursing home as a Certified Nursing Assistant in a dementia ward.  She does not own a gun.

News exposure:  She watched WGN in Chicago, but does not have or know any of the local news stations in Central Florida.  She remembers seeing people wearing T-shirts with Trayvon Martin's picture on it.


Juror 2 (B76)

White woman in 50s, married, two adult children, son is an attorney

Biographical info: 

She's lived in Seminole County since 1981 and has been in Florida since 1966.  She's been married for 30 years and has two children.  Her son is 28 and is an attorney who does foreclosure, bankruptcy and divorce cases, but he's never practiced criminal law.  Daughter is 26 years old and is a CNA.  She rescues pets.  Has no prior jury service and no prior arrests. No prior military service.  Does not have  cable TV.  Does not own a gun.

News exposure: She ran out of room on questionnaire in filling out what she knew about the case, but said she did not pay a lot of attention to it. Remembers part of a bond hearing and something Zimmerman's wife and their funds.  Knew Zimmerman was injured in the struggle.  Says she did not form an opinion about the case.  Subscribes to Orlando Sentinel for coupons but reads news online.


Juror 3 (B37)

White woman in 50s, married, two children, works in chiropractic office

Biographical information:  

Lives in the Oviedo/Winter Springs area with husband and daughter.  Has second daughter.  Juror has been employed at a chiropractic office for the past 16 years, and in more recent years that has taken a management-type role.  She's been a Seminole county resident for 18 years and married for 19 years.  She previously held a concealed weapons permit and her husband, who is an attorney, still has one.  Has three dogs, four cats, a few lizards, a crow and a parrot. 

News exposure:  Heard about the case on local TV.  Thought the Sanford rallies were "overdone," referring to demonstrations on behalf of Trayvon Martin.


Juror 4 (B51)

White woman in 60s, single, retired

Biographical information

Has lived in Seminole County since 1987.  Worked most recently in real estate.  Prior to that she was a director of a call center and oversaw 1,200 employees.  Has served on a jury two times. 

News exposure:

Watches local TV, reads newspaper.  Was aware of Frye hearing in Zimmerman case and saw photos of Zimmerman's head.


Juror 5 (E6)

White woman about 40 years old, married, stay-at-home mother of two

Biographical information:  Originally from Brevard County, moved to Orange County but has lived in Seminole County since 2004.  Currently out of work.  Husband is engineer.  Said she was arrested when she was younger and was guilty.  Church member who volunteers with kids at school.  Likes to garden. No military or prior jury service.  Has a family friend who is a SWAT detective.  Husband owns a handgun and rifles.  Says she made Zimmerman-Martin altercation a "teaching moment" for her kids.  Also says she was a domestic violence victim.

News exposure: Saw local TV news coverage, reads  Heard 911 calls in the case but didn't think much could be made from them.  Thought shooting was sad.  Knew that there was argument over experts in the case.


Juror 6 (E40)

White woman in her  60s, married, adult son, employed

Biographical information: Lived in Iowa and moved to Seminole County in November because of her job.  Previously lived in California and Pennsylvania, where she is from.  She is a workplace safety officer.  Husband is a chemical engineer.  Has a 28-year-old son who is an unemployed.  She served on a criminal case jury in Pennsylvania but was not the foreman. 



E54 -- 50-year-old white man, married with two children.

E13 -- 20-year-old white woman who's a surgical assistant

E28 -- 55-year-old white woman, married with two children

Note:  B72 --  20-year-old white man, single with no children (Dismissed for reasons not related to case.)

(Also, please note that all ages are approximate.)

Copyright 2013 by All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.