News 6 named station of the year

WKMG-TV takes home 11 AP awards


ORLANDO, Fla. – For the second year in a row, News 6 won more AP awards than any other TV station in Central Florida.

The awards were presented Saturday night in Orlando.

News 6 won first place in the following categories:

  • Station of the year
  • Best morning newscast
  • Best evening newscast 
  • Non-breaking news newscast
  • Feature light news for Getting Results award
  • Series/Franchise Reporting for Getting Results awards 
  • Nadeen Yanes for breaking news -- individual
  • Erik Sandoval for breaking news -- long format
  • James Sparvero for multimedia journalist

The station also took second place for the following:

  • ClickOrlando.com -- Best news website
  • Continuing coverage for Driving Change initiative

"I am very pleased to see our team being recognized for their hard work and dedication to investigative journalism, compelling storytelling and commitment to highlighting people of Central Florida who are getting results for our community," News 6 news director Allison McGinley said.