Here are the election updates in Flagler County

Flagler Beach, Bunnell had elections on Tuesday, March 8

Voting in two Flagler County cities will take place on March 8.

BUNNELL, Fla. – Not all Florida elections take place in November.

Local elections can take place throughout the year in Florida, and in March two cities in Flagler County elected city commissioners.

The cities of Flagler Beach and Bunnell had elections on Tuesday, March 8. The polls were open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. While there was no early voting period, residents could request a vote-by-mail ballot to vote in those elections.

Beverly Beach also had elections, but no candidates for town commissioner drew any opposition, so James Howard and Donna Christy Procida were automatically elected.

While the county’s supervisor of elections website still lists the vote-by-mail ballots as partially reported, Robert “Bob” Barnes and Tina-Marie Schultz are leading in the polls.


Voters decided on two commission seats in the city of Bunnell. The top two vote-getters among the three candidates will win the seats.

The candidates were:

  • Robert “Bob” Barnes
  • Tina-Marie Schultz
  • Peter Young

Schultz and Barnes were incumbents for the commission.

The mayor of Bunnell, Catherine Robinson, was also up for reelection but she drew no opposition and was reelected to another three-year term.

Bunnell voters decided on their commissioners at the following designated polling place:

  • G.W. Carver Community Center – 206 E. Drain Street

This was a temporary change because Bunnell City Hall is not available for the election.

Flagler Beach

Similar to Bunnell’s election, voters in Flagler Beach chose between two commission members. The top two vote-getters among the three candidates win the seats.

As these vote-by-mail ballots are still being tallied in this election as well, official winners have not been listed, but incumbent Jane Mealy and James Sherman appear to be in the lead.

The candidates are:

  • Rick Belhumeur (incumbent)
  • Jane Mealy (incumbent)
  • James Sherman

Voters decided on their commissioners at the following polling place:

  • Flagler Beach City Commission Chamber Room – 105 S. 2nd Street

The winning candidates fill three-year terms beginning on March 10.

About the Author:

Christie joined the ClickOrlando team in November 2021.