Scott Frost among AP coach of year finalists

Winner to be announced Monday

By RALPH D. RUSSO, AP College Football Writer
Associated Press

In this Nov. 24, 2017, file photo, Central Florida head coach Scott Frost, front right, greets officials before an NCAA college football game against South Florida, in Orlando, Fla. Nebraska fans are gearing up for what to them seems to be…

ORLANDO, Fla. - UCF's Scott Frost, Georgia's Kirby Smart and Clemson's Dabo Swinney are the finalists for The Associated Press Coach of the Year award.

The winner will be announced Monday.

Frost led the Knights to an unbeaten regular season before taking the Nebraska job. Frost plans to coach No. 10 UCF in the Peach Bowl against Auburn.

Last week, Frost won the Eddie Robinson Award as the national coach of the year.

Smart, in his second season with Georgia, guided the Bulldogs to a 12-1 record and their first Southeastern Conference championship since 2005. No. 3 Georgia will face No. 2 Oklahoma in the College Football Playoff at the Rose Bowl.

Swinney has the defending national champion Tigers back in the playoff for a third straight year. No. 1 Clemson won the Atlantic Coast Conference, finished 12-1, and will face No. 4 Alabama in the Sugar Bowl.

Copyright 2017 by WKMG ClickOrlando - All rights reserved.