Darren Soto wins U.S. House District 9 race

Soto defeats Republican challenger Wayne Liebnitzky


Darren Soto defeated Republican challenger Wayne Liebnitzky for the U.S. 9th Congressional District race in Florida.

In the August primary election, Soto defeated Susannah Randolph, Dena Grayson, and Valleri Crabtree with more than 36 percent of the votes.

Liebnitzky won the August primary against Wanda Rentas with more than 67 percent of the votes.

Alan Grayson, who held this seat prior to this election, decided to not seek re-election in 2016, but decided to run in the Florida Democratic Senate race.

Grayson was first elected to his position in 2012, and he represents parts of Orange, Polk and Osceola counties.