ORLANDO, Fla. – News 6 traffic safety expert Trooper Steve Montiero answers viewer questions about the rules of the road every week, helping Central Florida residents become better drivers by being better educated.
Trooper Steve was asked, “Are there restrictions for minors when driving with a Class-E license?”
There are, indeed, laws restricting the times that minors can operate a car, he said.
[TRENDING: Become a News 6 Insider]
“With spring break right around the corner and a local city putting in a curfew for minors, I thought it would be a good idea to bring up some existing restrictions already in place,” he said. “A 16-year-old who has a valid driver’s license cannot operate a motor vehicle between the hours of 11 p.m. and 6 a.m., a driver who is 17 years old cannot drive a motor vehicle between the hours of 1 a.m. and 5 a.m.”
If said driver is coming to or from work, or if they have someone else in the car 21 years old or older with a valid driver’s license, they would be permitted to drive, according to Trooper Steve.
“A lot of the reasoning behind this is because these drivers are inexperienced and driving at night can be a bit more difficult,” he said. “Practice as much as you can so that you can ultimately be a safe driver.”
If you have a traffic question for Trooper Steve, email him at email@example.com.
Get today’s headlines in minutes with Your Florida Daily: