Lake County now eligible for FEMA assistance in Ian’s wake

7 Central Florida counties qualify for individual assistance

Floodwaters still line the streets of Astor, days after Hurricane Ian hit. (Erik Sandoval, Copyright 2022 WKMG/

St. JOHNS COUNTY, Fla. – The Federal Emergency Management Agency added Lake County to the list of counties deemed eligible for individual assistance amid Hurricane Ian’s continued damage to livelihoods and property statewide, Lake County officials said Monday.

Survivors who seek such help as temporary housing assistance, basic home repairs and certain other uninsured disaster-related needs may apply at, by using the FEMA mobile app or by calling 800-621-3362 from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. EDT.

[TRENDING: 4 Central Florida counties now eligible for FEMA individual assistance after Hurricane Ian | Seminole County officials expect more flooding as water from Ian collects in rivers | Become a News 6 Insider (it’s free!)]

Seven of Central Florida’s counties are now on the Federal Disaster Declaration for Hurricane Ian — Flagler, Orange, Osceola, Polk, Seminole and Volusia counties were added in the last few days.

Eighteen Florida counties are now eligible for individual assistance through FEMA.

[GETTING RESULTS: News 6, Salvation Army to host donation drive for Hurricane Ian victims]

Get today’s headlines in minutes with Your Florida Daily:

About the Author:

Brandon, a UCF grad, joined the ClickOrlando team in November 2021. Before joining News 6, Brandon worked at WDBO.